Vote Now
International Practice


There are currently 20 countries in Europe where same-sex marriage is legal: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom


  1. Netherlands (2001): The Netherlands led the way in 2001, becoming the first country in the world to legalize same-sex marriage.
  2. Belgium (2003): Belgium legalized same-sex marriage in 2003, establishing equal rights for all couples.
  3. Spain (2005): Spain embraced marriage equality in 2005, granting full rights to same-sex couples, including adoption.
  4. Portugal (2010): Portugal joined the list of European nations legalizing same-sex marriage in 2010, ensuring equal rights for gay and lesbian couples.
  5. Iceland (2010): Iceland legalized same-sex marriage in 2010, solidifying its commitment to equal rights for all couples.
  6. Sweden (2009): Sweden, which had recognized same-sex partnerships earlier, officially legalized same-sex marriage in 2009.
  7. France (2013): France legalized same-sex marriage in 2013 after a series of debates, providing equal rights and adoption rights.
  8. United Kingdom (2014-2015): England and Wales legalized same-sex marriage in 2014, Scotland in 2014, and Northern Ireland in 2020.
  9. Luxembourg (2015): Luxembourg followed suit in 2015, extending equal rights and benefits to same-sex couples.
  10. Andorra (2014): Andorra recognized civil unions for same-sex couples in 2014, providing legal recognition without full marriage equality.
  11. Denmark (2012): Denmark legalized same-sex marriage in 2012, extending equal rights and benefits to all couples.
  12. Finland (2017): Finland legalized same-sex marriage in 2017, following a long debate, granting equal rights to all couples.
  13. Germany (2017): Germany legalized same-sex marriage in 2017, ensuring equal rights, including adoption, for same-sex couples.
  14. Ireland (2015): Ireland legalized same-sex marriage in 2015 through a popular vote, becoming the first country to do so by popular mandate.
  15. Malta (2017): Malta legalized same-sex marriage in 2017, reinforcing its commitment to equal rights for all couples.
  16. Slovenia (2017): Slovenia legalized same-sex marriage in 2017, securing equal rights and benefits for same-sex couples.
  17. Switzerland (2020): Switzerland legalized same-sex marriage in 2020, providing equal rights and recognition for all couples.
  18. Estonia (2024) : Estonia’s parliament passed marriage equality on June 20, 2023, a law legalizing same-sex marriage that come into effect from January 1, 2024.
  19. Austria (2019): Austria legalized same-sex marriage in 2019 following a landmark ruling by the Constitutional Court.
  20. Norway (2009): Achieved same-sex marriage legality on 1 January 2009 through a gender neutral marriage law enacted by the Storting in June 2008, marking a pivotal moment in LGBTQ+ rights.