Vote Now
International Practice

South America

There are currently 7 countries in South America where same-sex marriage is legal: Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador

South America

Argentina (2010): Argentina became the first country in Latin America to legalize same-sex marriage in 2010, ensuring full marital rights for gay and lesbian couples.

Uruguay (2013): Uruguay legalized same-sex marriage in 2013, allowing joint adoption by same-sex couples.

Brazil (2013): Brazil legalized same-sex marriage in 2013, recognizing the rights of gay and lesbian couples to marry.

Colombia (2016): Colombia followed suit in 2016, legalizing same-sex marriage through a ruling by the Constitutional Court.

Chile (2015): Chile legalized same-sex marriage in 2015, extending equal rights and benefits to same-sex couples.

Costa Rica (2020): Costa Rica legalized same-sex marriage in 2020 following a ruling by the Constitutional Court, becoming the first Central American country to do so.

Ecuador (2019): Achieved same-sex marriage legality through a Constitutional Court ruling on 12 June 2019, deeming the ban unconstitutional under Ecuador  Constitution.